Sunday, February 27, 2011

Good ol' TV

For the second straight year, I have managed to fill my February break with TV. I mean, not 24/7 TV, but quite a bit of it.

Last year was the Olympics. What a great couple of weeks that was...getting home from class and just watching hours of Olympics. This time it was the Scotties. I don't normally spend quite that much time on curling, but it was fun to watch. I'm getting all stoked for the Brier now....

All in all it was a good break, but I really need to get on my assignments....*cough*. It's been tough to gather up the motivation to do so, but now I don't really have much of a choice. I do still have one more day off before classes start again. Maybe I can procrastinate just a little bit longer...

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Yay!

Time for a break!

Well, I guess it's technically called Reading Week. It seems somewhat of an ironic name, as I would guess that an overwhelming majority of people really do not do much reading during that week. If they do, I think a lot of it is for their own leisure. Then again, I don't really have much homework or anything to do right now. Thinking back, perhaps being in a science program or something again I would have more reading and studying to do...

Either way I think we are all stoked for a break. I know my semester has been largely filled by hanging out with friends and playing video games (along with frequent drives in the northeast direction of course), but a break is always welcome. This is good timing for me, as the last week or so of classes has had a couple of "incidents", let's say, that have left me rather frustrated and disgruntled. All that I will say is that hypocrisy and irony are often really bad things.

I won't leave it all on a negative though, let's embrace the good things too. The people here are good, and many classes do provide good experiences. Well, except for the midterm that I have to write in an hour.....oops, there I am being negative again.

All in all, happy break to everyone. Do something fun and spend time with family and friends. Don't get too caught up in this "reading" mumbo jumbo...unless of course it's a Stephen King novel or something. In that case, it's totally excusable.

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

I miss golf...

Lately I have been getting a bit of an itch to get back on the golf course. Commercials on TV, live golf coverage....it's everywhere around me.

Today in class, we were asked to make a change to the wikipedia page of our hometown. Being from Nipawin, the golf course is a central attraction. I read the little blurb on the golf course, and it made me miss golf even more. I have to make a couple of small changes. Nothing major, but just emphasized how nice the course is by adding "beautifully" in front of the word landscaped, and fixed a small missing word error in the paragraph (one of the top 100 courses). Check it out...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nipawin,_Saskatchewan

I also received a neat golf simulator gift for Christmas. It's pretty cool, it lets you swing at a ball that is attached to a spring and it projects your shot based on some sensors below the swing. It even connects to play Tiger Woods '08 on the PC. I think it is '08 anyway....it might be '09. Either way, that would be helping to cure my golf itch, but I don't have room inside right now for a full swing, so I haven't had a chance to try it out yet. Soon......

Moving up to Hudson Bay will be a bit of a downgrade in golf course status, but hey, I can't complain. At least they do have one. Perhaps frequent trips to Nipawin will be in order...

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Getting Started

Woop for the first blog!

I have a little bit of experience with blogging already, so this isn't real new to me. However, I think it'll be something that I will find useful and a bit fun.

What a brutally cold day. In classic Saskatchewan fashion, the weather will go from melting temperatures to 40 below and back to melting temperatures within the span of about a week. I was unable to drive out of town this weekend because the roads were just too risky. Hoping for better luck next weekend...

Also, getting pumped for the Superbowl this weekend. I like both teams, but will probably cheer a bit more for the Steelers. I definitely won't be disappointed if the Pack win though, kind of a win-win situation for me. Actually, I think what I will cheer for is an entertaining game. I'm sure it will be.

Well, there we go....the blogging has begun. See you all next time!